Faculty Council: May 2, 2014

Call to Order: President Tiffany Cartwright called the meeting to order at 1:15 PM

Roll Call: Roll was called and all representatives were accounted for except as noted below.

CPC:

Will Geisler - absent Kelley Reynolds Lorena Rodriguez – absent – Frank Mayhew proxy Judi Wohead

PRC:

Mindi Bailey
Rodney Boyd
Regina Hughes – absent – Kim Nyman proxy
Joan Kennedy
Bryan Rasmussen
Clint Starr

SCC:

Betsy Brody
Chris Grooms
Tony Howard
Joan Jenkins
Barbara Lusk - absent
Marti Miles-Rosenfield
Paula Miller – absent – Peter Dawson proxy
Kay Mizell
Sam Tullock - absent

Approval of April 2014 Minutes: Minutes of the March 2014 meeting were approved as distributed.

Treasurer's Report: none

Presidents Report:

1. White Papers for COAT – The Leadership Team is pleased with the progress COAT is making with assessments, they need suggestions from faculty for improvement. There will be 10-15 cash awards available for the best suggestions. Look for more information.

- 2. Associate faculty election underway 15 people nominated so far, a suggestion was made to please update chairs so they can encourage participation.
- 3. Tino Trujillo retired at the last Board Meeting.

### Old Business:

- 1. Technology Committee proposal: Still waiting to discuss at scheduled meetings
- 2. Leave/faculty retention committee: Received very little information that was requested, will meet after graduation
- 3. Chair compensation and responsibilities: Committee worked all year on the proposal sent out to FC reps this week. There was a discussion regarding some of the issues that were not addressed by the proposal:
  - whether or not the Chair had to evaluate associate faculty
  - dual credit
  - combined Chairs
  - workforce training
  - communication between Chairs

Faculty Council supports leadership at the discipline level.

The discussion will be left open and questions sent back to the committee. Send comments and suggestions to P. Breedlove.

## Committee Reports:

- 1. Technology George Jackson no report
- 2. College Policy Barbara Lusk P. Dawson discussed the committees work.
- 3. FC Procedures Dan Lipscomb no report
- 4. Teaching/Learning Regina Hughes no report
- 5. Collin Community Julie Turnbow made a request for a name change for the committee. B. Rasmussen made a motion to change the name of the committee to "Collin Faculty in the Community" M. Cohick seconded the motion, passed unanimously. The committee will meet next week, J. Turnbow reported on some if the committees activities.
- 6. Academic Freedom Tony Howard no report

#### **District Committees:**

COE – MIndi Bailey

COE just completed a MYC prep session. Additional dates over the summer - June 27<sup>th</sup>, and July 25<sup>th</sup>. COE has no travel money available. Faculty may request funds for after September 1, 2014.

ACC – Lynn Jones

ACC is gathering items and commitments for the fall auction

CAB - Ellen Bell

CAB will be holding electronic meetings over the summer in order to review programs changing to the mandated 60 hour maximum

SOBI – Lorena Rodriguez – no report

CPC Report – J. Wohead

Judi reported that the Clothesline Project and the film "Girl Rising" were well attended. There will be a poster presentation on Service Learning next week.

PRC Report – R. Boyd

Rodney reported on many events and examples of faculty involvement at PRC. The "D" Building at PRC will be renamed Lawler Hall.

Rodney reported that the decision to "close" classes will be made on 5-27-14

SCC -B. Brody

The Suburbia music festival is this weekend – parking passes will be required if coming to campus. Betsy and Joan reported on many student and faculty activities at SCC. FC was interested to hear that there would be dogs on campus during finals week for a research project on stress relief.

## Results of Elections:

President: Bryan Rasmussen Vice-President: George Jackson Newly Elected Representatives:

CPC: Tiffany Cartwright

PRC: Nick Morgan, Kim Nyman SCC: Peggy Brown, Mike Cohick

Returning Representatives:

CPC: Will Geisler, Kelley Reynolds, Lorena Rodriguez PRC: Rodney Boyd, Regina Hughes, Joan Kennedy

SCC: Betsy Brody, Joan Jenkins, Barbara Lusk, Marti Rosenfield, Paula

Miller, Kay Mizell, Sam Tullock

# Retiring Representatives:

CPC: Judi Wohead

PRC: Mindi Bailey, Clint Starr SCC: Chris Grooms, Tony Howard

Passing of "the gavel"

#### **New Business:**

- 1. Need a new chair for the Emerging Scholars Committee. Ed Bock will discuss whoever is interested.
- 2. There was a discussion regarding Developmental Education.
- 3. There was a request for feedback on the hiring process please submit comments on the grid and paperwork to your Dean and Paula Miller.
- 4. There was a question regarding honorariums for faculty.
- 5. Nominations for FC Treasurer:
  - M. Cohick nominated Paula Miller, J. Jenkins seconded the motion. Passed unanimously
- 6. Nominations for FC Secretary:
  - J. Wohead nominated W. Geisler, R. Boyd seconded the motion. Passed unanimously

Next Meeting: August 29th at CHEC, 1:15 PM

Call for Adjournment by T. Howard. All approved. Adjournment at 2:28 PM