Faculty Council Minutes: April 17, 2015

- 1. Call to Order: Bryan Rasmussen called the meeting to order at 3:00pm
- 2. Roll Call (21 people) P or A

Executive Council

President: Bryan Rasmussen – P

Vice President: George Jackson - P

Treasurer: Paula Miller - P Secretary: Will Geisler - P

Central Park

Tiffany Cartwright (2014 – 16) - P

Will Geisler (2013 – 15) - P

Kelley Reynolds (2013 – 15) - P

Lorena Rodriguez (2013 – 15) - A

Preston Ridge

Rodney Boyd (2013 – 15) - P

Regina Hughes (2014 – 16) - P

Joan Kennedy (2013 – 15) - P

Nick Morgan (2014 – 16) - P

Kim Nyman (2014 – 16) - P

Spring Creek

Betsy Brody (2014 – 16) - P

Peggy Brown (2014 – 16) - P

Mike Cohick (2014 – 16) - A

Joan Jenkins (2013 – 15) - P

Barbara Lusk (2013 – 15) - P

Marti Miles-Rosenfield (2013 – 15) - P

Paula Miller (2014 – 16) - P

Lynn Jones – (2013 - 15) - P

Kay Mizell (2014 – 16) - P

Associate Faculty

Ashok Kumar – P

Motion to approve March minutes was passed unanimously

3. Treasurer's Report

- Faculty Scholarship is unchanged
- Dr. Israel We have a full scholarship + a book scholarship
- 4. Vice President's Report George Jackson
 - No report
- 5. President's Report:
 - Dr. Matkin had a leadership team meeting,; he basically asked questions.
 - Bryan talked about leave without pay, March 2 deadline, chair model
 - Whenever anyone comes to him his question will be "how does it benefit students?"
 - HR questions are still in the works. They have about 16 pages worth of material. This will be published and they want to be accurate and thorough.
 - April 28 Board Meeting plans to announce the Faculty member of the year.
 - Bryan expressed appreciation for the Board candidate forums.
 - Faculty council elections close at 5:00pm tonight. Results will be the first part of next week.
 - It has been a great year with faculty council. We have made progress and many good ideas have come out of the faculty council.
 - Leadership team is next Monday. Bryan will have a report for that in two weeks.
- 6. Committee Reports
 - Committee on Technology Andrea Szlachtowski

0

• Committee on College Policy – Barbara Lusk

0

- Committee Faculty Council Procedures and Nominations Dan Lipscomb
 - o We had 208 ballots (52% participation highest ever).
- Committee on Teaching and Learning Regina Hughes and Mindi Bailey

 \cap

• Committee on Collin In The Community – Linda Sears

0

• Committee on Academic Freedom

0

• Committee on Associate Faculty – Ashok Kumar

0

7. District Committees:

- Council on Excellence Mindi Bailey
 - o The MYC announcement has been sent to the Deans. There will be information session for those who will be up for MYC and get an overview of the process. Ballots will be counting ballots.

0

- All College Council
 - o No report
- CAB Ellen Bell

0

- SOBI Lorena Rodriguez
 - o No report
- COAT Nicole Grose
 - o June 4 is assessment day.

0

• Central Park Campus Report –

C

• Spring Creek Campus Report

0

• Preston Ridge Campus Report

0

9. Old Business

- For future years there might be a better way to organize the names for the stage
- Faculty survey of faculty priorities something the next president wants to weigh in on

10. New Business:

- There may be a future proposal to have a professor emeritus position for retired faculty
- Regina said thank you for her support for the president elections no matter what happens we win.
- 11. Next Meeting: -
 - Friday May 1, 2015 (CHEC Board Room),
- 12. Call for Adjournment (motion, seconded, time)
 - o Motion to adjourn made and seconded 3:!6pm