March 23, 2018 1:00, CHEC 107 | Meeting called to order by President Nick Morgan

Attended: President Nick Morgan; Vice President Rachel Bzostek

SPRING CREEK	PRESTON RIDGE	CENTRAL PARK
Doug Boliver (2016-18) Absent	Kat Balch (2016-18) Proxy Cathy Thurman	Tony Airhart (2017-19)
Peggy Brown (2016-18)	Levi Bryant (2016-18)	Seema Endley (2016-18)
Mike Cohick (2016-18)	Diana Gingo (2017-18)	Joe Jaynes (2016-18) Proxy Judy Wohead
Chris Grooms (2017-19)	Kim Nyman (2016-18)	Joan Hunsaker (2017-19)
Tony Howard (2017-19)	Sunita Rangarajan (2017-19)	Toni McMillen (2016-18) Absent
Lynn Jones (2016-18) Absent	Debra St. John (2017-19)	Michael Rose (2017-19)
Tonya McMillion (2017-19)	Andrea Szlachtowski (2017-19)	
Kay Mizzell (2017-19)		
Rebecca Orr (2016-18)		
Michael Phillips (2016-18)		
Dean Wallace (2017-19)		
Roger Ward (2017-19)		

DISTRICT ASSOCIATE FACULTY REPRESENTATIVE

Patricia Coble (2016-18)

Approval of Minutes

Minutes approved and seconded. Motion Peggy Brown; Seconded

Board

Minutes taken by Cathy Thurman in Toni McMillen's Absence:

<u>Treasurer's Report</u> Treasurer Operating Budget \$4,412.01 reported by Cathy Thurman

Vice-President's Report: No Report

President's Report:

- a. TCCTA Conference
- b. Student Evaluations of Instruction Resolution
- c. Safety Committee
- d. Graduation
 - Last graduation size exceeded fire codes, for the general seating area. Ended up opening up additional seating areas, such as the luxury boxes for additional seating
 - b. The proposal is to split graduation in to two graduations May and December
 - i. Currently, there is no expectation that each individual faculty member will have to attend both graduations, but each individual faculty member will still be expected to attend one graduation ceremony each academic year
- e. Texas Academic Decathlon: To be held April 19-20 in Frisco; Volunteers are needed

Committees

Associate Faculty: Written report submitted by Patricia Cobble

- 1. I am preparing a written report for incoming Associate Faculty representatives to review the history and workings of the Associate Faculty sub-committees. This is especially important for the smooth transition of Nick's Presidential Initiative to assess and develop a position on Associate Faculty Training and Development. It is also important for the continued development of the online Associate Faculty Community.
- 2. As an offshoot of the Associate Faculty Training and Development Initiative, I have been recommended and asked to participate and have participated in reviewing Innovation Grants related to Associate Faculty as well as a project that has accomplished so much in one month, the online Onboarding training for all faculty led by Meredith Martin. I am honored to have been asked to participate in these endeavors and hope my contributions are worthy of having been included.
- 3. I want to share that Mervat Karout, Kelly Martin, Ann Blackman, and I presented at the Texas Distance Learning Association last Wednesday regarding Collin College's Faculty Council and the use of technology with their committees. This included discussions about the use of Office 365, Canvas, and Zoom Conferencing.

- 4. I want to strongly state, that I believe that as an elected member of the Collin College Faculty Council, I should be able to cast a vote regarding the Faculty Council's officers.
- 5. I would like to "suggest" that the President and Vice President of the Faculty Council serve for 2 years at a time.

<u>Academic Freedom:</u> No Report <u>Common Good:</u> No report.

Policy: No report.

Teaching and Learning: No Report

<u>Technology:</u> No Report

<u>Summer Institute</u>: No report <u>Committee Formation</u>: No report

FC Procedures and Nominations: An update on FC Elections was given.

Faculty Council Representatives for 2018 - 2019

Central Park Campus	Preston Ridge Campus	Spring Creek Campus
Tony Airhart (2017 – 19)	Rachel Bzostek (2018 - 20)	Doug Boliver (2018 – 20)
Seema Endley (2018 – 20)	Randy Collins (2018 - 20)	Chris Grooms (2017 19)
Joan Hunsaker (2017 - 19)	Diana Gingo (2018 – 20)	Tony Howard (2017 – 19)
Joe Jaynes (2018 – 20)	Suzanne Jones (2018 - 20)	Bridgette Kirkpatrick (2018 - 20)
Toni McMillen (2018 – 20)	Jason Morgan (2018 - 20)	Michael McConachie (2018 - 20)
Michael Rose (2017 – 19)	Sunita Rangarajan (2017 – 19)	Tonya McMillion (2017 – 19)
	Debra St. John (2017 – 19)	Kay Mizell (2017 – 19)
	Andrea Szlachtowski (2017–19)	Marta Moore (2018 – 20)
		Barbara Stern (2018 – 20)
		Dean Wallace (2017 – 19)
		Roger Ward (2017 – 19)
		Stephen Whitley (2018 – 20)
Associate Faculty Representatives		
Susan Owens (2018 - 20)	Bonnie Ford (2018 - 20)	John P. Williams (2018 - 20)

District Committee Reports

<u>COE</u>—Meeting to be held this afternoon. One year, multiyear, and contract extensions will be approved at the March Board meeting. Emails will go out soon concerning opting out of the upcoming COE election. There is currently \$30,000 left in travel funds.

<u>ACC</u>: They are transitioning to staff council without faculty; 30 staff members total with 15 elected and 15 appointed.

CAB: No report.

<u>COAT</u>: COAT is making revisions to the social responsibility rubric; Reminder about this year's district assessment days, which will be held on May 30 and 31, in the Board Room at CHEC.

SOBI: No Report

New Business

<u>Faculty and Student Food Bank</u>: Lori Ranta, Marta Moore and Peggy Brown would like to create a food pantry for students in need; a committee was formed to explore and research options for establishing food pantry needs.

Adjournment

Call to Adjourn motion made; seconded, and approved.

Minutes taken by: Cathy Thurman, Proxy for Toni McMillen; Notes typed by Toni McMillen Approved by Nick Morgan on April 17, 2018

Next Meeting

Next Meeting Friday, April 20, CHEC 107

Faculty Council Spring Meeting Schedule

Friday, April 20, CHEC 107

Friday, May 4, CHEC 139