Collin College Faculty Council

Nov. 15, 2019, 1:00, McKinney Conf. Center | Meeting called to order by President Kat Balch

Faculty Council Representatives for 2019 - 2020

- · ·		
Frisco Campus	McKinney Campus	Plano Campus
Rachel Bzostek-Walker	Seema Endley (2018 – 20)	Hannah Adams (2019 – 21)
(2018 – 20)		
Randy Collins (2018 – 20)	Joe Jaynes (2018 – 20)	Doug Boliver (2018 – 20)
Proxy Aaron West		
Diana Gingo (2018 – 20)	Toni McMillen (2018 – 20)	Peggy Brown (2019 – 21)
	Proxy by Joe Jaynes	
Suzanne Jones (2018 – 20)	**Tony Airhart (2019 – 21)	Mike Cohick (2019 – 21)
	Absent	
Jason Morgan (2018 – 20)	Jason Snyder (2019 – 21)	Bridgette Kirkpatrick (2018 –
		20) Proxy by Giant Aryaui
Kim Nyman (2019 – 21) by	Vijaya Velamakanni (2019 –	Michael McConachie (2018 –
	21)	20)
Sunita Rangarajan (2019 –		Kay Mizell (2019 – 21)
21)		
Debra St. John (2019 – 21)		Marta Moore (2018 – 20)
		Barbara Stern (2018 – 20)
		Proxy by Barbara
		Larry Stern (2019 – 21)
		Roger Ward (2019 – 21)
		Stephen Whitley (2018 – 20)
Associate Faculty Representatives		
Bonnie Ford (2018 – 20)	Susan Owens (2018 – 20)	John P. Williams (2018 – 20)
		Proxy by Bonnie Ford

^{**}Tony Airhart was elected to serve Fall 2019 as a one-semester sabbatical replacement for Lorena Rodriguez

Approval of Minutes

<u>Secretary</u>: Toni McMillen, Roll Call Notes by Joe Jaynes; Toni was absent due to sick child. Diana motions; Mike seconds; minutes approved

Board Reports

Treasurer's Report: Bonnie Ford

Meeting Expenses: 4406.34 General Supplies: 960.00

Vice-President's Report: No Report.

<u>President's Report:</u> Kat Balch

- Board of Trustees Updates
 - Discussion on rewording college policy on tobacco & vaping products tabled for further study
 - Still being developed
 - School Marshal regulations passed
- ELT Updates
 - Discussion on Universal Retirement Celebrations
 - Looking at having quarterly celebrations
- Texas Pathways Institute Conference
 - Planning sessions are being discussed. More details will be sent out in an email by VP Hardesty.

Standing Faculty Council Committees

Academic Freedom: Roger Ward and Diana Gingo-Chairs, No Report

Associate Faculty: John P. Williams, Chair-

- Just held second round of Adjunct Faculty Academy with over 100 participants.
- Sending out call for papers for Adjunct Faculty Collaboration Conference
- Adjunct Faculty preparing a survey regarding the climate at Collin College

<u>Committee for the Common Good</u>: Vijaya Velamakanni, Chair-No Report, but request was made to make it easier to contribute to Common Good.

 <u>Plano Balloon Festival</u>: TJ Pickens reported that the check from the Balloon Festival will be delivered to the BOT at their December meeting.

<u>Policy</u>: Debra St. John and Aaron West, Chairs: Council voted to table Non-Discrimination Policy while it will be edited to make it more inclusive. Council will address the changes at the January meeting. Motion by Roger Ward, Seconded by Rachel Walker.

<u>Procedures and Nominations</u>: Procedures and Nominations: Dan Lipscomb, Chair- Dan Lipscomb: No Report.

Teaching and Learning: Suzanne Jones, Chair-No Report

Technology: Mervat Karout and Sunita Rangarajan, Chairs- No Report.

District Committees:

COE: Rebecca Orr, Chair of COE-Aaron West reported that COE has finished packet reviews.

<u>Staff Council</u>: Shane Apple, Rep: No Report.

<u>CAB</u>: Kathy Fant, Chair-Tony Howard reporting: Collin will be offering an Urban Sustainable Agricultural degree at the Wylie Campus.

<u>COAT</u>: Aaron West, Chair-COAT will apply term limits to members. Sharon Eaves has been elected COAT Co-Chair.

SOBI: Rachel Bzostek Walker, Chair-No Report

New Business

- December meeting suspended
- Winter Commencement, December 13, A-J mandatory attendance
- Farmersville Campus groundbreaking, December 6 at 9am
- Celina Campus groundbreaking, January 16, 9am

Meeting Adjourned

Call to Adjourn Tony Howard, Seconded by Mike Cohick; Meeting Adjourned; **Next Meeting: January 17**th **CHEC, Board Room**