Collin College Faculty Council

June 30, 2020, 1:05, Zoom | Meeting called to order by President Kat Balch

Faculty Council Representatives for 2020 – 2021

Frisco Campus	McKinney Campus	Plano Campus	Technical Campus
Levi Bryant (2020 – 22)	Marlo Ballard (2020 – 21)	Hannah Adams (2019 – 21)	Tiffany Cartwright (2020 –22)
Diana Gingo (2020 – 22)	Robert Brown (2020 – 22)	Lynn Jones (2020 – 22)	Lorena Rodriguez (2019 – 21)
Laura Hicks (2020 – 21)	Roberta Cravo (2020 – 22)	Bridgette Kirkpatrick (2020 – 22)	Wylie Campus
Suzanne Jones (2020 – 22)	Audra Heaslip (2020 – 22)	Tonya McMillion (2020 – 22)	Mike McConachie (2020 – 22)
Jason Morgan (2020 – 22)	Jason Snyder (2019 – 21)	Marta Moore (2020 – 22)	
Kim Nyman (2019 – 21)	Vijaya Velamakanni (2019 – 21)	Barbara Stern (2020 – 22)	
Sunita Rangarajan (2019 – 21)	Judi Wohead (2020 – 22)	Larry Stern (2019 – 21)	
Debra St. John (2019 – 21)		Dean Wallace (2020 – 21)	
		Roger Ward (2019 – 21)	
		Stephen Whitley (2018 – 20)	
Associate Faculty Representatives			
Bonnie Ford (2020 – 22)	Melissa Kenfield (2020 – 22)	Patricia Coble (2020 – 22)	

Approval of Minutes

Roll Call by Secretary Lorena Rodriguez. Kim Nyman moves to approve June 23 minutes; Lynn Jones seconds. Minutes approved by unanimous vote.

Old Business

Resolution coming out of Policy Committee as brought forward by Aaron West.

Motion to discuss resolution by Levi Bryant; Second by Debra St.John.

Representatives discussed whether to strike out mention of mask requirement from the resolution, since President Matkin recently informed the College that they would now be

required. The Council finally agreed to keep the mention of mask requirement in order to express faculty wishes that it should remain in place during the fall semester.

Some representatives have heard from constituents that resolution is not strong enough, or specific enough.

Prof. Bryant is concerned that continuing to modify resolution would extend the time it takes to reach administration. The Council generally agreed the resolution and accompanying document should move forward as soon as possible.

Barbara Stern calls the question on the resolution presented by the Policy Committee; second by Bonnie Ford. Resolution is passed with 22 votes in favor.

Fall Planning Taskforce

Faculty members of the upcoming taskforce have been contacted and accepted, as follows:

Aaron West, Dan Lipscomb, Audra Heaslip, Tonya McMillion, Levi Bryant, Gian Aryani, Sunita Rangarajan, and Emily Henderson. In addition, a facilities staff member and a member of Staff Council will be invited. The taskforce will meet on Tuesday, July 7 with Dr. Jenkins.

Document coming out of Policy Committee titled "Collin College and Concerns about Reopening in Fall 2020 during the COVID Pandemic: Discussion and Proposals," as brought forward by Audra Heaslip

Prof. Heaslip let the Council know that she has been contacted by three faculty members who do not agree with the document in general. These individuals are probably ok with faculty being given choice of modality to teach, but not ok with recommending going fully online.

Prof. Morgan shared the concern that one faculty member's name was added to the document, but he did not do it himself. This is disturbing and may indicate further manipulation of, not only the signature/comments section, but perhaps the main body of the document. Prof. Heaslip has backup copies of the original version of the document, but the signature/comments portion has been open for editing and cannot be verified unless signatories are contacted.

President Balch suggests that the Council votes on the document itself, without signatures, and that the signature/comments portion is sent on separately after verifying that all signatures and comments are genuine.

Prof. Heaslip suggests that the Council email the signatories asking them to verify.

Prof. Wohead makes motion to send the main to Leadership Team body of document only, separate from all faculty signatures and comments, as we have concerns regarding external manipulation and time is of the essence; St.John seconds. Motion passes.

Signatories and their comments will be verified. Cover letter will be composed to go email requesting that each individual faculty member verifies their signature and comment. Faculty members will be given until the end of the weekend to reply back, or their signatures and comments will be eliminated from the document before sending out.

Discussion about new Task Force: Rep. Suzanne Jones wants to know how these names were put forward, and how they were chosen. Pres. Balch said that she forwarded the names of all Faculty Council members who volunteered. She was told by Toni Jenkins that faculty from other Collin committees as well members of staff and facilities would also be invited.

Rep. Suzanne Jones suggests that the resolution should go to the Board of Trustees; Rep. Rodriguez agrees and shares that three of her constituents agree; President Balch says the official chain is for her to submit to Leadership Team and then they will advance forward.

New Business

Reasonable accommodation discussion: Kim Nyman wonders if faculty get turned down for reasonable accommodation, will they need to go through FMLA.

President Balch will check with Floyd Nickerson and Christina Canales to verify how the process will go: forms needed, requirements that need to be met, etc.

Rep. Gingo brings up the fact that FC needs to continue to advocate for faculty even alongside the Task Force and in addition to sending the present forward – how will we do this? Will the TF be able to share working information with the rest of FC.

A general discussion ensued regarding the previous day's letter from President Matkin and faculty feeling fears being dismissed.

President Balch will carry resolution and document by hand to Leadership Team.

Motion to adjourn by Jason Snyder; Kim Nyman seconds; meeting adjourned.