Collin College Faculty Council

27 August 2021 1:00, Zoom and CHEC 227 | Meeting called to order by Roger Ward

Faculty Council Representatives for 2021 - 2022

Frisco Campus	McKinney Campus	Plano Campus	Technical Campus
Levi Bryant	Tony Airhart (2021-23)	Hannah Adams	Tiffany Cartwright
(2020 - 22)		(2019 - 21)	(2020 - 22)
Diana Gingo	Robert Brown	John Hoenig (2021-23)	Melinda McBee (2021-
(2020 - 22)	(2020 - 22)		23)
Christian Madu	Roberta Cravo	Lynn Jones	Wylie Campus
(2021-23)	(2020 - 22)	(2020 - 22)	
Jason Morgan	Carol Lavender (2021-23)	Bridgette Kirkpatrick	Mike McConachie
(2020 - 22)		(2020 - 22)	(2020 - 22)
Scott Swartsfager	Ekaterina Stoe (2021-23)	Tonya McMillion	
(2021-23)		(2020 - 22)	
Open (2020-22)	Judi Wohead	Marta Moore	
	(2020 - 22)	(2020 - 22)	
Open (2021-23)	Open (2020-22)	Natasha Robinson (2021-	
		23)	
		Linda Sears (2021-23)	
		Barbara Stern	
		(2020 - 22)	
		Larry Stern	
		(2019 - 21)	
Associate Faculty Representatives			
Bonnie Ford	Open (2020-22)	Patricia Coble	
(2020 - 22)		(2020 - 22)	

Election of New Officers

Lauryn Angel unanimously elected as Secretary Bonnie Ford unanimously elected as Treasurer Mike McConachie continues as Parliamentarian

Roll Call and Approval of Minutes

Roll Call by Secretary Lorena Rodriguez. Tiffany Cartwright moves to approve May minutes; Linda Sears seconds. Minutes approved by unanimous vote.

Executive Committee Reports

Treasurer's Report: Bonnie Ford

General Fund:

Meeting Expenses: \$6000 General Supplies: \$960

Only \$40 was spent this year out of our college accounts on renewing our Adopt-a-Highway

contract with the City of Plano.

Scholarship balances:

No total for scholarships yet.

Sunshine Fund: \$632.48

Vice-President's Report: Lorena Rodriguez

No report.

President's Report: Roger Ward

Board of Trustees Policy Committee Meeting

Call for Faculty Council members to attend these meetings.

Clarification of Board policy regarding adding agenda items. Any two members can add items to agenda.

First reading of change of language regarding shared governance; adds staff and administration to shared governance. Concern that this dilutes faculty involvement.

Board of Trustees Updates

4.5% salary increase approved.

President's contract renewal approved 7-2.

President granted 6 mo. emergency power to make decisions regarding Covid-19.

Issue of masks raised by Trustee Stacey Donald; several board members raised concerns. Abe Johnson will look into it.

Shared Governance Taskforce Updates

Task force did not have their final meeting.

Standing Faculty Council Committees

Academic Freedom – Diana Gingo

No report

Adjunct Faculty - Pat Coble

No report.

<u>Common Good – Vijaya Velamakanni and Seema Endley</u>

Dean Lynch's address is needed in order to send condolences on behalf of faculty – will be provided by VP Rodriguez.

<u>Policy Committee – Jason Morgan</u>

No report. Jason Morgan volunteered to chair.

<u>Procedures and Nominations – Dan Lipscomb</u>

Nothing beyond new business.

<u>Teaching and Learning – Scott Swartsfager</u>

No report. Scott Swartsfager volunteered to chair.

<u>Technology – Mervat Karout and Sunita Rangarajan</u>

Tech Tips schedule created. The committee has received good feedback regarding Tech Tips. Cybersecurity Committee encourages all faculty to take training. All full-time faculty have taken training, but some adjuncts are resisting, keeping us from 100% compliance with state mandate.

District Committee Liaison Reports

CoE - Rebecca Orr

Email sent to faculty regarding travel funds; funding approved for same amounts as previous year: \$1600, plus \$200 for presenters and Outstanding Professor finalists, plus \$500 for Outstanding Professor. Funds may be applied to virtual conferences. Faculty may now apply for funding for conferences taking place now through March.

Funding requests will go through Workday; Workday theoretically easier than Concur.

Reminder of due date for MYC and reminder to always go to COE for due dates.

CAB -

No report.

COAT – Sharon Eaves

100 faculty participated in summer assessment. Results show Social Responsibility needs work. Promote assignment alignment in disciplines.

Canvas Course created to help collect artifacts.

Linda Sears points out rubrics on Faculty Online Commons are out of date. Sharon will get this fixed.

SOBI-

No report.

Ad Hoc Committees

<u>Tenure – Zack Shipley</u>

Looking at tenure-like systems at other colleges.

Reviewing grievance/appeals process.

New Business

Faculty Council Priorities for 2021-22

Council will prioritize Shared Governance and Academic Freedom

Shared Governance Task Force

As noted above, the task force did not have their final meeting. Mike McConachie reports nothing was resolved.

Restructuring of Faculty Council – Dan Lipscomb

Primary reasons are to expand representation for underrepresented areas and improve communication between reps and faculty.

Suggestion to move away from campus-based reps and toward representation based on programs/divisions.

Plan developed by Dr. Schumann, then turned over to Dan Lipscomb to develop; then revealed to FC leadership and procedures committee.

Changes to be phased in over next year. Current reps would serve out elected terms. New reps would be distributed to represent faculty at Associate Dean level (approx.. 25 faculty)

Reps would be responsible for communicating w/ division or program.

New reps should be elected immediately for iCollin and workforce programs. Existing open seats reassigned for nursing. Proposal of electing seats for Celina and Farmersville.

Presented amendment to procedures manual.

Michael McConachie moves to edit proposed procedures amendment. Seconded by Hannah Adams.

Final version of procedures amendment: "The number of full-time faculty campus representatives is placed at up to 32 and shall be proportionate to the approximate number of full-time faculty within divisions and programs at each campus or district-wide. No fewer than 3 adjunct faculty representatives shall represent part-time faculty."

Michael McConachie moves to approve amendment. Bonnie Ford seconded. Passed with unanimous agreement.

Tiffany Cartwright moves to elect iCollin and workforce representatives to Faculty Council and fill all remaining open seats under the current scheme. Rebecca Orr seconded. Passed with unanimous agreement.

Communication

Campus representatives should formally request new business items from direct constituents in order to improve communication between reps and faculty.

Faculty council president will hold periodic open and informal sessions with faculty across the district.

Minutes

Draft of meeting minutes should be promptly distributed to all faculty.

Next meeting will be 24 September 2021 at 2pm.

Meeting adjourned by acclamation.