Collin College Faculty Council

24 September 2021 1:00, Zoom and CHEC Board Room | Meeting called to order by Roger Ward

Frisco Campus	McKinney Campus	Plano Campus	Technical Campus (Academic)
Lauryn Angel	Tony Airhart (2021-23)	Hannah Adams	Tiffany Cartwright
(2021-23)	1011y Annart (2021-23)	(2019 - 21)	(2020 – 22)
Levi Bryant	Robert Brown	John Hoenig (2021-23)	Melinda McBee (2021-
(2020 - 22)	(2020 - 22)	(2021 20)	23)
Rebecca Burton	Roberta Cravo	Lynn Jones	Technical Campus
(2021-23)	(2020 - 22)	(2020 – 22)	(Workforce)
Diana Gingo	Carol Lavender (2021-	Bridgette Kirkpatrick	Darrell Rochelle (2021-
(2020 – 22)	23)	(2020 – 22)	23)
Christian Madu	Ekaterina Stowe (2021-	Tonya McMillion	Wylie Campus
(2021-23)	23)	(2020 – 22)	
Jason Morgan	Judi Wohead	Marta Moore	Mike McConachie
(2020 - 22)	(2020 – 22)	(2020 - 22)	(2020 – 22)
Scott Swarsfager	Open (2020-22)	Natasha Robinson (2021-	iCollin
(2021-23)		23)	
Open (2021-23)		Linda Sears (2021-23)	Rebecca Orr (2021-23)
		Barbara Stern	
		(2020 - 22)	
		Larry Stern	
		(2019 – 21)	
Associate Faculty			
Representatives			
Bonnie Ford	Patricia Coble	Clayton Cummings	
(2020 – 22)	(2020 - 22)	(2021-23)	

Faculty Council Representatives for 2021 - 2022

Roll Call and Approval of Minutes

Roll Call by Secretary Lauryn Angel. Bonnie Ford made an adjustment to last month's Sunshine Fund report. Linda Sears moved to accept August minutes; Tiffany Cartwright seconds. Minutes approved by unanimous vote.

Executive Committee Reports

Treasurer's Report: Bonnie Ford

General Fund:

Meeting Expenses: \$6000 General Supplies: \$960 Only \$40 was spent this year out of our college accounts on renewing our Adopt-a-Highway contract with the City of Plano.

Scholarship balances:

Full-Time Faculty Scholarship Fund

Balance before scholarships paid: \$7684.67

Scholarships budgeted for AY21-22: 3 @ \$500 = \$1,500

Scholarship Awards: 3 offered, 2 accepted, 1 declined. The declined scholarship will be re-awarded in spring.

Associate Faculty Scholarship Fund

Balance before scholarships paid: \$1,578.83

Scholarships budgeted for AY21-22: 4 @ \$1,500 = \$6,000

Scholarship Awards: 4 offered, 4 accepted

Sunshine Fund: \$632.48 and three \$15 Target gift cards.

<u>Vice-President's Report</u>: Lorena Rodriguez No report.

President's Report: Roger Ward

President Ward will attend the upcoming Board of Trustees meeting on 9/28/21.

The Academic Government and Strategic Planning Committee (AGS) has its first meeting 10/18. President Ward represents us on the committee but cannot act without Faculty Council approval.

President Ward is invited to serve on the CARES Act Committee. This committee decides how to spend the money awarded by the CARES Act. Of concern is whether faculty were consulted regarding vaccine incentives.

Mask signage is a work in progress. President Ward asks the council for recommendations for visible reminders regarding masks beyond signage in classrooms.

President Ward brought up the topic of compensation for science labs. Science labs are not equally compensated with courses. President Ward suggested an ad hoc committee to investigate lab compensation. Bridgette Kirkpatrick volunteered to serve as chair.

President Ward requested feedback from the council regarding vaccine incentives.

Standing Faculty Council Committees

<u>Academic Freedom – Diana Gingo</u> No report.

Adjunct Faculty - Pat Coble and Bonnie Ford -- No report.

Common Good - Vijaya Velamakanni and Seema Endley - No report.

<u>Policy Committee – Jason Morgan – Chairperson Morgan called for more members and</u> requested permission to investigate the grievance process with intent to request changes.

<u>Procedures and Nominations – Dan Lipscomb</u> Nothing beyond the presentation.

<u>Teaching and Learning – Scott Swartsfager</u> – The committee has met and is working on establishing goals.

<u>Technology – Mervat Karout and Sunita Rangarajan</u> Honorlock: The McKinney campus VP/P requested data from the ELC survey; Mervat Kerout provided a list of issues faculty have encountered.

The Committee discussed the issue faculty have had of students using Canvas Messenger and discussion boards to communicate with each other in order to cheat on quizzes. Faculty are encouraged to contact the ELC for ways to combat this.

District Committee Liaison Reports

<u>CoE – Rebecca Orr</u>

A reminder that Workday training is required for travel funding.

Seagal called for a focus group to understand how CoE operates. They now understand CoE.

<u>CAB – Cheryl Wiltse reporting for Melinda McBee</u> – No report.

COAT – Sharon Eaves

COAT received 26 submissions for assignment review.

Discipline leads will have a workshop for developing assignments in October.

Reminder that 12/10/21 is the deadline for submitting student artifacts.

SOBI- Millie Black and John Glass --

SOBI has received several referrals from faculty this semester, but most referrals have been turned over to Counseling Services or the Dean of Students Office. SOBI will keep faculty council posted regarding any new training opportunities once they are available.

Ad Hoc Committees

Tenure – Zack Shipley

Research should be wrapped up by the end of the month, with a goal of presenting at the next Faculty Council meeting.

New Business

Committee to attend Board Committee Meetings - Roger Ward

President Ward called for volunteers to establish a committee to attend the 4pm meetings before the Board of Trustees adjourns into private session before board meetings.

Restructuring of Faculty Council – Dan Lipscomb

In response to the previous meeting's recommendation of adding faculty in under-represented areas, we have added iCollin and Workforce representatives.

Discussion of representation models from last month's meeting resumes.

Michael McConachie moves to have a dedicated seat for Nursing and a dedicated seat for Cap. John Hoenig seconds. Unanimously approved.

Linda Sears moves to vote to fill the vacant seat at Frisco Campus using the dean-level model and revisit discussion before spring elections. Michael McConachie seconds. Unanimously approved.

Next meeting will be 29 October 2021 at 1pm, location TBA.

Michael McConachie moved to adjourn. Tony Airhart seconded.