Collin College Faculty Council

21 April 2023 1:00, Zoom and CHEC Meeting Room 227

Meeting called to order by Roger Ward at 1:01 PM Roll Call and Approval of Minutes

Stephanie Abramoske- Austin	Andy Galloway	Tonya McMillion	Ekaterina Stowe
Hannah Adams	Rhonda Green	Rebecca Orr	Stephanie Tyson
Tony Airhart	Kimberly Harris	Serena Richards	Jimmy Wallace
Lauryn Angel	John Hoenig	Darrell Rochelle	Stephen Whitley
Josh Arduengo	Tony Howard	Linda Sears	VACANT
Lindsey Brown	Joe Jaynes	Jason Smoot	
VACANT	Christian Madu	Les Stanaland	
Clayton Cummings	Natalie Malin	Larry Stern	

Roll Call: Kimberly Harris, Secretary

Absent: Natalie Malin

Motion to approve March minutes made by Tony A. and seconded by Lauryn A. Motion

approved.

Executive Committee Reports

Treasurer's Report: Rebecca Orr

Total remaining: \$3878.62

<u>Vice-President's Report</u>: Lorena Rodriguez

No report

President's Report: Roger Ward

FC Election Update

 Long-term IRO person who has helped with the election in the past is no longer at the college which created some issues. Rebecca B. and Dan L. are working on it and the FC ballot will go out next week. Not all campuses will receive ballots—only those with multiple nominees.

Master Calendar

o Faculty Council dates will no longer appear on the Master Calendar.

Standing Faculty Committee Reports

Academic Freedom - Diana Gingo

No report

Adjunct Faculty – Stephanie Tyson

No report

Common Good – Vijaya Velamakanni and Seema Endley

Working on the reception. None of the retirees has responded to the survey.

Policy Committee - Joan Hunsaker

No report

Procedures and Nominations – Rhonda Green

No report

<u>Teaching and Learning</u> –Les Stanaland

Patrick Lewis has been elected as Chair of the Faculty Development Advisory Committee

<u>Technology – Mervat Karout and Sunita Rangarajan</u>

Have a meeting regarding the security pop-up that has to be accepted every time we log on. Also, could FT faculty encourage adjuncts to complete the cyber-security training.

Please complete the latest survey regarding soft-ware needs for district-wide computers.

OEP -- Clayton Cummings

The committee mostly reviewed the wording of the grievance policy—looking at the change from 10 to 30 business days to file. Appeals to the BOT are only possible when a BOT policy has been violated.

Resource and Remuneration Committee

No report

District Committee Liaison Reports

CoE – Rebecca Orr

CoE completed their election. Congratulations to the new members. The task force submitted a preliminary report and asked for a Phase II. MYC workshop that overlaps the May FC meeting will be recorded.

CAB – Kaycee Washington

COAT -

Make sure to work with students so that if you are up for COAT assessment, students turn in their work. CWID. Turn in your assignments. Sign-up to help with summer assessment.

SOBI- Millie Black

No Report

New Business

IRB Process: Discussion of the proposed IRB procedures from the subcommittee centered on "what is incidental use." The new procedure for IRB gives more protection than we currently have. One person from Staff Council will be added to the committee. The draft was shown to administration. Josh A. moved to accept the new IRB process procedures. Linda S. seconded. The motion carried.

FC Survey: Should be redone. Not all faculty received it and others did not understand that the questions were specific to the multi-year contract process. (MYC). Using the short semesters for MYC is not up currently so there is time to start again.

Early Submission of Syllabi: This is on hold. If an AD/Director requires it, please email the FC President.

Swatting Incident: Communication was a real issue. Training is needed. Who is in charge when something like this happens. This is further proof that we do not need the School Marshal Program.

Proposal on Faculty Council Committee on Campus Safety: Mike M. moved to table the proposal. Incoming officers will monitor updates over the summer. Clayton C. seconded the motion and carried.

Search Committee Guidelines: These are not being properly followed throughout the district. Discipline Leads and Discipline Faculty are to choose the committees and the chairs. This is being ignored even though Dr. Johnson has sent the guidelines out to supervisors.

Adjourn

3:30 PM Motion to Adjourn by Tony A.; seconded by Andy G. Motion carried.