The Texas Center for Working-Class Studies

The Texas Center for Working-Class Studies, which began as Dr. Lisa Kirby’s Lebrecht Endowed Chair for Scholarly and Civic Engagement project (2013-2015), is now a center that is housed in the Division of Communication and Humanities at Collin College’s Plano Campus. The Center urges an appreciation of the academic discipline of Working-Class Studies and the centrality of class in order to understand the history, politics, economy, and culture of the United States.

The Center hosts an annual Labor Day kick-off event in the fall semester, as well as a one-day, interdisciplinary conference in the spring. It sponsors a registered student organization, Working-Class Heroes, and an annual student essay contest. The Center also provides support to faculty who may want to integrate Working-Class Studies into their pedagogy.

Mission: To raise awareness about issues of social class and work and to provide opportunities for collaboration among faculty, students, and community members.

Founding Director:
Lisa A. Kirby, Professor of English

Advisory Board:
Millie Black, Political Science (Wylie Campus)
Catie Brooks, Outreach/Community Service Chair, Sociology (McKinney Campus)
Lishan Desta, Political Science (McKinney Campus)
Laura Hicks, Economics (Frisco Campus)
Michael Latham, Facilities and Media Services Chair, Economics (Plano Campus)
Melody Miyamoto Walters, Student Writing Contest Co-Chair, History (Allen Technical Campus) 
Mark Popowski, History (Frisco Campus)
Ryan Pettengill, External Communications Chair, History (Wylie Campus)
Michael Schueth, Student Writing Contest Co-Chair, English (Plano Campus)
Barbara Lusk Stern, Psychology (Plano Campus)
Larry Stern, Sociology (Plano Campus)
Sam Tullock, History (Plano Campus)
Kyle Wilkison, Ruth Allen Award Chair, History (Plano Campus)